The Checkpoint block allows you to offer your user the ability to restart the experience from the last backup of their data.

The block saves both its position in the graph (its Storyline will start from that location) and the values of the variables at the time it reached the Checkpoint block.

The user's data is saved on the local storage of his device (which allows to use the application offline).

Note: If you export your application in HTML5 or PWA format, be sure to tell your users not to delete the data from the local storage of the browser they are using the application with, they will lose their backup.

You can still send data about user experiences via the Analytics, Zapier or Integromat blocks.

In the example of this graph, the Checkpoint block is located before an important choice that directs the rest of the experiment to 3 different main paths.

When you Test play the graph, once you have passed the Checkpoint block, two new options appear in the Debug window (which allows you to monitor your test):

  • Loading last Checkpoint allows you to restart the preview of the experience from the last Checkpoint block, just as a user would do if they left the application and restarted it.

Note: Loading the last checkpoint clears the "feed" history.

  • Remove last checkpoint data allows you to disregard the saving of the last checkpoint during the Test, which can be useful for testing different scenarios that would require you to return to an inside state.
Did this answer your question?